Reviews

The following are unedited reviews from our Facebook page. If you would like to leave your own review we would love to hear from you. Please Click Here to leave a review.

We’re so glad we found Dunreath Farm for our first backyard chickens. The two Golden Comets we bought have been delightful. The breed is apparently known for their great dispositions, their commitment to producing eggs, and their ability to weather hot and cold. It’s December, and we can’t believe they’re still giving us eggs every day!

We bought the Dunreath Farm chicken feed and our chicken ladies loved it. We got into a pinch and bought some feed from Southern States. They ate it, but they weren’t happy about it. Seriously. It’s worth the trip from Bon Air to Ashland to get the good stuff. And it is so reasonably priced. Quality over proximity!

Posted by Liz B. Baker on Saturday, December 26, 2015

Steven and Stacey are great people, whom have become our friends. They sell quality feed for a good price and we’ve got a lot of great healthy chickens from them. Recently we got two amazing Royal Palm Turkey’s and two very sweet Guineas, that we love. Thanks for providing a great farm for all!
Posted by Hannah Whitehead on Saturday, September 12, 2015

They were awesome! She took the time to teach us how to care for our new ducklings. She explained everything in detail that we need to know. The ducklings are all healthy and growing bigger everyday. It is also a great place to get really good quality food for the ducks. I am so glad I went to Dunreath Farm!
Posted by Terry McLeod Gilley on Sunday, September 6, 2015

Awesome! She definitely knows her birds! Will return to her in the future.

Posted by Jamie Snead on Thursday, August 6, 2015

Came to get a few ducks after a fox had taken most of ours! Ended up getting two geese, two royal palm turkeys, 4 Peking ducks, and two of the most beautiful call ducks! The birds were simply gorgeous. Every bird there was so well taken care of. Despite the business she did not mind telling us about each breed and how to protect our flock. Loved my experience there. Going back tomorrow!

Posted by Angela Thomas Snead on Wednesday, August 5, 2015

I had looked for a month for Pekin Ducklings, that were hatched in a clean environment, I finally came upon this farm and the owner Stacey was very passionate about everything they do and made sure to keep in touch with us when they finally had week old Pekins. We made our trip up to Ashland and I ended up falling in love with Goslings instead and she told me since I wanted just a pet they would be perfect and she was right. I have fallen in love! They follow me around my yard as if I were their real mother. I have to say this is by far the most amazing experience of my life. If your thinking about Ducks, Chickens, etc. then give them a call you won’t regret it!!!!

Posted by Elizabeth Tolley on Tuesday, May 26, 2015

I just took the chicken processing class today and I was VERY impressed. Steve was an excellent instructor – gave clear, concise instructions, was happy to answer each and every question and was so VERY patient and encouraging. Then I spent time with Stacey who answered a ton of questions I had on waterfowl. I wish we could go to 10 stars.

Posted by Lara Traylor on Sunday, May 17, 2015

Best chicken farm I have ever been to and the best chickens!!

Posted by Daniel Schwickerath on Sunday, May 17, 2015

Love! Healthy birds and great people. Would recommend. Support locals!

Posted by Racheal Embrose on Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Purchased my Dominique and Cuckoo Maran from Dunreath Farms. Both are excellent birds.

Posted by Krista Cummings on Tuesday, May 12, 2015

So, I have officially slaughtered my first chicken.

I went to a humane chicken processing workshop at Dunreath Farm today. For anyone who cares about animal welfare and sustainable/responsible food, I highly recommend this workshop! And if you need chickens, traditionally produced feed, or anything of that sort, definitely check them out! They are a wonderful family!

As for the workshop, I was pretty nervous going into. I’m a huge animal lover. But I also know and accept the fact that meat is an important part of our food system. My animals and I have to eat. I try to do that as humanely and responsibly as possible. But I had nothing to worry about. While my feelings are complicated, in the end, I feel that having the ability to thank the animal and treat it will as much care and dignity as possibly made all the difference.

Steve is very thorough and gently guides the group through the entire process. At the end, you have a chicken all ready to take home for dinner! He cares for the animals and you can tell the entire family cares for their farm!

Now, I’m going to be having my homemade chicken and dumplings later this week! And I can enjoy it knowing exactly where my food came from and that is lived a good life.

Posted by Pippa Curran on Sunday, May 3, 2015

I visited these nice folks in search of female ducks. Not only did they take the time to explain every question I had regarding my pets needs but also made me feel like I have a source to go to with all my future duck needs. Including their food! Look forward to dealing with them in the future!

Posted by Brittany Johnson on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

The owners are awesome, they spend the quality time telling you how to take care of your chickens. I bought my Golden Comet chickens during winter, they came home healthy. If your looking for a place that really cares about it’s animal go to Dunreath Farm!

Posted by Daniel Estrada on Monday, April 6, 2015

great place wonderful people , we have great layers thank you

Posted by Tammy Adams on Saturday, January 31, 2015

Got 4 Pekin ducks last summer..now they are all full grown healthy birds..will buy from dunreath farms again

Posted by Cory Timperio on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Got 4 Pekin ducks last summer..now they are all full grown healthy birds..will buy from dunreath farms again

Posted by Cory Timperio on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

This place is awesome and the owners are genuinely nice people! I loved how they talked to me for 30+ minutes about chickens.

Posted by Amber Hall on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

We got our 4 chicks from them about two and a half months ago..all are healthy, friendly birds. Very happy!

Posted by Stephanie Walthall Brown on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I am so glad we found this little place. The owners are the nicest people ever. Despite their overwhelming spring workload anf the dozens of actual customers buying dozens of birds at a time, they took over half an hour educating us about the different duck breeds and how we could make the two little ones in our yard happy. They had only best quality of each breed in their farm, and everyone looked so healthy. i can’t wait to have more land so we can shop our hearts out here

Posted by Laila Zai on Thursday, May 15, 2014

We went to get some chickens. We got an education, honest advice, and a few new members of our family. Our chickens are healthy and very hearty. We have already made plans to go back for more!

Posted by Hannah Sacra on Saturday, May 3, 2014

I love my birds I’ve gotten from Dunreath Farm. They’re always so nice and helpful!

Posted by Jessica McKinney on Saturday, March 8, 2014

Excellent stock, fun place to visit.

Posted by Christine Ashton Pimblett on Monday, February 10, 2014

These are some of the nicest people that I have ever conducted business with; they take the time to help you and really…

Posted by Janine Hoefler on Thursday, September 5, 2013

Dunreath has excellent birds and customer service! I’ve purchased 5 breeds of chickens from them; all had superior health, pleasant personalities, and the feathers were so soft!

Posted by Jennifer Carroll Stewart on Sunday, August 25, 2013